December 4, 2008

  • Tightening One Belt, Loosening Another

    I can't believe that I haven't worked in almost a year-- and, yet, I haven't. And it has been an adjustment. I was used to having my own money and not having to negotiate very much about what was done with it. Now, it seems, everything is a negotiation. I'm not complaining, as I know DH and I are still very fortunate, but I understand better now how money becomes a problem in a relationship. I, for my part, am working on compromising more and insisting less. I have been shopping craigslist for baby stuff and found the exact changing table I had been looking at in the store (3 of them, actually) and got it for a third the price (and felt good about reusing instead of buying new). I'll probably also get a glider off of craigslist. We did finally manage to come to a decision on living room furniture and may actually have a couch come January! Baby steps, right?

    In other news, I think I may have to make the leap to maternity pants soon. I went to Target today and bought two pairs of pants- one of which seems to fit me okay now (with a bit of room to stretch) and the other is a bit loose. I can still get away with normal pants + rubber band + bella band, but it's getting less and less comfortable with each passing day. I've been able to feel the baby for the past ~2 weeks and the movement is becoming more consistent. I have to say, it feels really weird when he stretches himself out (at least, that is what it feels like he is doing).

Comments (5)

  • I remember going through that adjustment with two to one income.  It definitely takes some getting used to; I sure liked having "my own" money.  

  • I hear ya on the comprimising about purchasing.  It sure makes you talk more and face the issue.  How about a belly pic????

  • Hooray for maternity pants!!!!

  • i am so excited for you- i know what you mean about the weird feeling baby stretches. i love it, miss it though. later on i can start feeling what parts and get a sense of just how baby is curled up in there... what a magical thing.

    i do feel like our money is 'karl's' since he is the working one... it makes it hard to buy him anything in secret. i feel like it is a little wrong to spend his money on something he may or may not like, yk?

  • Yeah...maternity pants!  How fun.  I love when you can feel them move.  It was my favorite thing about pregnancy because it was such a unique feeling.

    Sounds like you made a good craiglist score.  We went from two recliners to a couch loveseat combination about 4 months after having kids, so I smiled when you said you were looking at new sofas too.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment